fb icon myAcc icon

About the Alpena Community College Board of Trustees

About the Alpena Community College Board of Trustees

The ACC Board of Trustees consists of seven members, elected at large in the community college district on a nonpartisan basis for staggered terms of six years. The election is held the first Tuesday in November in even-numbered years. The term of office is from January 1 to December 31.

Any qualified elector residing within the community college district of the Alpena Public Schools is eligible to be chosen as a Board member.

Each member of the Board of Trustees has the duty to attend the Board meetings, both regular and special; to perform special responsibilities as authorized by the Board and directed by the president or chairperson to support the best interests of the College; and to faithfully represent the district in all matters before the public.

The Board of Trustees, as the legally constituted authority for the governance of Alpena Community College, recognizes its ultimate responsibility for all aspects of the College including the following:

  1. Selection and hiring of the president

  2. Establishing the mission and goals of the College

  3. Reviewing and developing policy

  4. Monitoring the College's financial condition to assure a sound financial base

  5. Establishing tuition and fees

  6. Acquiring and conserving College funds and property

The officers of the Board consist of a chairperson, a vice chairperson, a treasurer (who shall be members of the Board), and a secretary. The secretary shall be a member of the staff and a non-voting officer of the Board. The officers shall be elected by the Board of Trustees for two-year terms.

A majority of four members of the Board of Trustees is a quorum. No act is valid unless voted on at a meeting of the Board by a majority vote of the members of the Board and a proper record made of the same.

The Board of Trustees shall conduct its meetings and business in conformance with Act No. 267, State of Michigan Public Acts of 1976, the Open Meetings Act.

ACC Board of Trustees Bylaws (PDF)