fb icon myAcc icon

Past Distinguished Graduates

Alpena Community College Distinguished Graduate

The Distinguished Graduate Award was established by the ACC Foundation and Development Office in 1998 to honor and recognize ACC graduates who have contributed to society through successful careers. The accomplishments of these individuals exemplify how a solid educational foundation from ACC can launch a lifetime of achievement.

The hunt is on for the 2023 Alpena Community College Distinguished Graduate, an honor awarded each year to an ACC alumnus who has achieved remarkable success in life. 

The deadline for nominations is 11:59 p.m. on April 3, 2023.

Distinguished Graduate Nomination Form

ACC Foundation Names Its 2022 Distinguished Graduate
Alexandra Johnson (’07) to be Honored at ACC Commencement

Alpena— April 15, 2022 — Alpena Community College has selected Alexandra Johnson as its 2022 Distinguished Graduate. She will be honored during ACC’s commencement ceremony on May 12 at Alpena High School’s Park Family Field at Wildcat Stadium. The event begins at 6:00 p.m.

From ACC to NYC

Alexandra Johnson

Ms. Johnson is the Head of Innovation for Bank of America. Prior to that, Ms. Johnson was the Global Head of Foreign Exchange Payments Go-to-Market, Commercialization, and Partnerships at JPMorgan Chase, the nation’s largest bank.

Ms. Johnson graduated summa cum laude from Alpena Community College in 2007 with an associate degree in liberal arts. She then attended Michigan State University, where she earned bachelor's degrees in both marketing and interior design. Ms. Johnson went on to earn a Master of Business Administration from The George Washington University. Following her graduation, Ms. Johnson led brand strategy for upscale brands at Choice Hotels Inc. for four years before transitioning to the financial services industry as a director with PayPal, where she managed a network of payment providers, payment operations, and led the PayPal prepaid card product offering. She began her career with JPMorgan Chase in 2019 and then with Bank of America in 2022.

“I am honored and flattered to be considered as a distinguished graduate and be part of an impressive group of such accomplished past winners. I never would have imagined that by 31, I would be a global leader in one of the largest financial institutions in the world, and receiving this honor reminds me to be grateful for every step of my career journey, and specifically, to reflect on the significance of Alpena and Alpena Community College in those accomplishments.”

Distinguished Graduate Honor

Ms. Johnson is the thirtieth recipient of the Distinguished Graduate award, which is bestowed upon an ACC alumnus/ae who has impacted the world in their area of expertise. Established in 1998 by the ACC Foundation, this award honors ACC graduates who have gone on to contribute to society through successful careers. Its recipients are examples of how a solid educational foundation from ACC can launch a lifetime of achievements.

For more information, contact:

Mary Eagan, ACC Director of Alumni Relations

Past Distinguished Graduates
2022 - Alexandra Johnson (2007)
2021 - Christin Kauffman Bennett (1986) & Keith S. Titus (1959)
2020 - Thomas Sobeck (1988)
2019 - Keith Wallace (1962)
2018 - Dr. James E. Stoddard (1960)
2017 - Frank McCourt (1962)
2016 - Roger Bauer (1962)
2015 - Kurt Golder (1974)
2014 - Susan A. Petrisin (1982)
2013 - Jerry Murrell (1964)
2012 - Roy W. Smith (1991)
2011 - Teresa A. Szymanski (1982)
2010 – Matthew P. Linke (1978)
2009 – Michael G. Mack (Class of 1974)
2008 – Lisa M. Dietlin (Class of 1983)
2007 – Jodi L. Radke (Class of 1993)
2006 – Mark L. Barnard (Class of 1977)
2005 – Alhasan S. Ceesay, MD (Class of 1969)
2004 – Jeffery Kieliszewski, PhD (Class of 1989)
In 2003, as part of Alpena Community College’s 50th Anniversary a graduate representing each decade of the College’s existence was named a Distinguished Graduate.
2003 – David McNeil (Class of 1957)
2003 – Carol Schmidt Shafto (Class of 1965)
2003 – Andrea “Andi” (Timrick) Ball (Class of 1972)
2003 – Raymond Reynolds (Class of 1983)
2003 – Dr. Becky (Dragiewicz) Ashley (Class of 1992)
2002 – William H. Gaasch, MD (Class of 1957)
2001 – Douglas R. Schmidt (Class of 1966)
2000 – Susan M. (Schmitz) Pierce (Class of 1971)
1999 – Carol (Manning) Lewis (Class of 1962)
1998 – Dennis Schultz (Class of 1962)